Generation Heroes

Home » Christian Living » Super Bowl LI: Epic Comeback for Real!

Super Bowl LI: Epic Comeback for Real!

Text Widget

This is a text widget. The Text Widget allows you to add text or HTML to your sidebar. You can use a text widget to display text, links, images, HTML, or a combination of these. Edit them in the Widget section of the Customizer.

by Jimmy Sileo

“And I am certain that God, who began the good work within you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” Philippians 1:6

Image result for American football in grassThese days, when I hear the word epic consistently exaggerated, my eyes roll as naturally as breathing. I once watched a German Shepherd greet a Labrador Retriever outside of a veterinarian’s office by happily sniffing each others’ butts. A young man next to me stated, “Dude, that’s epic!”

The word from that point was already fading out of my vernacular.

However, when thinking about describing this year’s Super Bowl, only one word came to mind. Yes! Epic.

When used as an adjective it means heroic or grand in scale/character or valiant, impressive, and remarkable. I’m not talking about gum, hairstyles, a sports car or an ice cream flavor either. This was the largest comeback in Super Bowl history! And like this amazing game, God wants to do the same in you.

As a Christian, have you ever felt like giving up? Did you ever say to yourself, I’ve had enough of this. I’m not measuring up to what I think I should be like? Feel like quitting? Well, you’re not alone. I have many times.

In these situations, you have to turn to God’s promises and word for the truth. At halftime, the Patriots’ coach did not give a fiery, in-your-face speech, but rather, with no apparent emotion, calmly said, “Do your job. Stay calm. It would take more than twenty-one points to beat the Patriots.”

In life, we may question our faith because we do not perceive growth or see results. Sometimes we feel unused or unworthy to be used by God, or as if everything we’ve been doing is useless. King David tells us to take heart, be strong and wait on the Lord [Psalms 27:14]. He said this at a time when the people of Israel were talking about stoning him to death. He was greatly distressed at that time, but he strengthened himself in the Lord, and we should, too.

Last year, I planted two new trees in my front yard next to my driveway. Knowing what I know about trees, I’m not going to worry if they don’t grow a lot in the first year. I know they may look the same for a few seasons, but that’s alright because there is a greater work happening under the surface of the ground. The root system is developing and progress is happening even though I don’t see it.

Philippians 1:6 says, “And I am certain that God, who began a good work within you, will continue His work until completion.” Now that’s epic.

As we grow in the Lord and get into the Bible, we learn to look at our circumstances through the lenses of God’s promises like a set of spiritual glasses that filters out the world’s perspective. At first you might see a mess, but God sees a message that lifts Jesus up–a testimony for all to see. When we look at life this way we can proudly say, like the Patriots said, “Nobody panicked or got demoralized. It was business as usual in the only overtime game in Super Bowl history. We kept believing. And here we are.”

So, if you are someone like me who can lose sight of the big picture and get caught up in this crazy life, I say look at things through spiritual lenses.

Do you see that God wants good things for you? He sees your potential already achieved even on your worst day! Believe it. Do you perceive it? Keep looking. Something new is on its way just beyond the horizon–maybe even something epic.

Leave a Reply

